Making a planet

So I’m using this dragon glass shader tutorial to create this weird planet thing. I’m going to adapt it so that it has less reflectance and looks more like a gaseous cloud.

So I started off making these concentric rings with a wave texture and then warped them by bumping up the distortion and reducing the scale.

Screen Shot 2019-10-26 at 10.45.59

I then increased the bump strength and distance to give the surface a bit of depth.

Screen Shot 2019-10-26 at 10.47.01

After giving it a point light to make a nice bounce off light I realised that the bump was way too high and it looked nothing like a planet. So I lowered the bump and increased the light watts and added volumetric lighting and shadows and it looked much better.

Screen Shot 2019-10-26 at 11.33.28.png

Leave a comment